Skip to content Skip to footer

Indian Women’s T20 World Cup Squad Announced

India squad for Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: Shikha Pandey has been recalled as a surprise member of India’s 15-member team for the World Cup, which will be held in South Africa in February.


The All-India Women’s Selection Committee on Wednesday announced the Indian team that will participate in the upcoming 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa, which will begin on February 10 this year and last till February 26.

It was announced on Wednesday that Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the Indian team at the upcoming Women’s T20 World Cup, which will be held in February, as announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The All-India Women’s Selection Committee has finally selected a 15-member squad that will be led by Harmanpreet in the marquee event of the ICC, while Smriti Mandhana will act as Harmanpreet’s deputy (vice-captain).

Aside from announcing the squad for the T20 World Cup, the board also announced the squad for the tri-series that will take place in South Africa before the summer tournament takes place.

Key Additions in Squad

Despite being barren from playing for India in the recent past, Shikha Pandey has made a sensational return to the 15-member side led by Harmanpreet Kaur. Shikha made her last appearance in a T20I in October 2021 before being unexpectedly left out of the team before the Women’s ODI World Cup in 2022.

Shikha is India’s second-leading wicket-taker in Twenty20 Internationals (40 wickets) behind Jhulan Goswami. She will replace Meghna Singh, who has been demoted to the reserve team following a bad performance against Australia.

There were no other highlights in the BCCI squad, which was largely chosen on its own. However, all-rounder Pooja Vastrakar’s inclusion is subject to her fitness. As a result, Vastrakar was unable to participate in India’s recent series against Australia at home. It is anticipated that left-arm seamer Anjali Sarvani, who made an impressive debut in the recent series, will also feature in her first T20 World Cup. The spin bowling options for India include Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, and Devika Vaidya, while Sneh Rana is listed as a reserve.

As the runner-up in the previous edition, India opens its campaign against Pakistan in Cape Town on the 12th of February. As part of Group B, India will also have to face England, Ireland, and the West Indies in order to qualify.

Final Preparations:

As part of its final preparations, India will play South Africa and West Indies in a tri-series tournament that is scheduled to begin on January 19 at East London. Sushma Verma, the wicketkeeper-batsman, and Amanjot Kaur, an uncapped all-rounder, have been added to the squad for the seven-match series, which concludes on February 2.

India’s squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023:

Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Richa Ghosh (wk) Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Anjali Sarvani, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey

Reserves: Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh.

India’s squad for Tri-series: 

Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice Captain), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Sushma Verma (wk), Amanjot Kaur, Pooja Vastrakar, Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Shikha Pandey

We hope the Indian Women’s cricket team performs exceptionally well in the Worl Cup tournament!

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

Subscribe to Newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter for new blog
posts, tips & photos.