Skip to content Skip to footer

Performance of Chennai Super Kings Since the Inaugural Season | Shanker Sports News

The Indian Premier League (IPL) was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India in 2007. The inaugural season took place in 2008, wherein 8 teams participated, including Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Mumbai Indians (MI), Delhi Daredevils (DD), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Deccan Chargers (DC), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). 

Over time, some IPL teams got terminated, including Deccan Chargers, and Pune Warriors India. In 2022, two teams Lucknow SuperGiants (LSG), and Gujarat Titans (GT) were added. 

If Chennai Super Kings is your favorite team, you may wish to know its performance since the inaugural season. To know about this, you can continue reading the article and have detailed knowledge. 

Being a cricket fan, you may wish to stay updated with all the cricket latest news. With CBTF News, you can find Indian cricket team news, IPL news, and other information on all cricket-related events. 

Performance of CSK Since 2008  

You may know the performance of your favorite IPL team Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and analyze their performance. After Mumbai Indians, CSK is the second team that has won the maximum number of IPL titles. 


In the inaugural season of the IPL, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) played well. They won the first match against Kings XI Punjab by 33 runs. However, they lost the last match against Rajasthan Royals. 

 Out of 14 matches, they won 8 games. Suresh Raina scored the maximum score in the team, i.e. 456 runs in 14 innings. 

CSK went to the semifinals but lost to the Rajasthan Royals. 


Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the captain of CSK for the second season in a row. In their first game of the tournament,  CSK lost against Mumbai Indians. The Royal Challengers defeated CSK and placed them in second position. 

Matthew Hayden of CSK won the Orange Cup as he was the leading run-scorer of the season. In 12 innings, he scored 572 runs and a total of 5 half-centuries. 


For the first time in the history of the IPL, CSK won the IPL title. The final was between CSK and Mumbai Indians. MI lost the final by 22 runs. Suresh Raina of CSK won Man of the Match. 


In 2011, Chennai Super Kings won the second title. They went against Royal Challengers Bangalore and won the game by 63 runs. Murali Vijay was the Man of the Match. For two times in a row, CSK won the title. 


CSK reached the playoffs for the fourth time in a row in 2012. Initially, they lost two matches but then won matches back to back. In the playoffs, there was CSK versus Mumbai Indians but lost. 


In 2013, CSK reached the final for the fourth time in six seasons. In the final, CSK went against Mumbai Indians but lost. Michael Hussey played exceptionally well by scoring 54 runs in just 48 balls. 


CSK reached the playoffs for the sixth time and finished in third place. In the finals, CSK was against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) but lost by 3 wickets. 


CSK reached the playoffs and finished in second place. They were against Mumbai Indians in Qualifier 1 but lost by 25 runs. In the final too, they lost to Mumbai Indians by 41 runs. 


CSK won their third IPL title in 2018. They won 11 matches out of 16. In the finals, it was Sunrisers Hyderabad versus Chennai Super Kings. CSK won by 8 wickets. 


In the 2019 IPL season, CSK won the first match against the Royal Challengers. In the finals against Mumbai Indians, they lost by one run, landing in second place. 


For the first time, CSK did not qualify for the playoffs. Under M.S. Dhoni’s captaincy, CSK was eliminated by the end of the finals. However, the cricketers played extremely well.


The 2021 IPL season took place in Chennai. Chennai Super Kings won their fourth IPL title by beating Kolkata Knight Riders.


In a match against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Chennai Super Kings lost the game by 6 wickets. 

Bottom Line!  

If you are a cricket fan, you may have your favorite team you always cheer for. Chennai Super Kings is the favorite team of many people. Since the inaugural season, they have never given up and always play great on the field. They have won four titles so far till 2022. 

To know more about the latest IPL news, you can follow CBTF News. They provide reliable and authentic information on all cricket-related events. You can easily follow them and stay tuned.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

Subscribe to Newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter for new blog
posts, tips & photos.