Skip to content Skip to footer

Recap of 2020 ICC Women’s World Cup T20 Winner: Australia

The last ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Final match was played on March 8, 2020. The Australian team had to face India at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne in the 7th edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Series. Australia defeated India by 85 runs and bagged their fifth T20 World Cup title. For the first time in history, India reached the world cup final.

 Australia had won the toss and the captain Meg Lanning decided to bat first. They managed to brilliantly score 184 runs for the loss of 4 wickets playing all twenty overs.  Beth Mooney scored the highest for Australia with 78 not out. Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney were the duos who set up the innings with 75 from 39 balls. India’s Deepti Sharma grabbed two wickets while Poonam Yadav and Radha Yadav took one each respectively.

 Pursuing a tremendous total of 185 runs, India performed pathetically as they lost four wickets inside the powerplay overs. the final four wickets fell for 7 runs off 13 balls. India couldn’t manage to chase the Australian score and the whole team was bowled out for 99 runs in 19.1 overs. Healy was declared the “Player of the Match” and Mooney was named player of the tournament. Australia proudly won the World Cup T20 tournament for the fifth time.

Show CommentsClose Comments

Leave a comment

Subscribe to Newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter for new blog
posts, tips & photos.